Thursday, January 17

Thursday High School Announcement

Weekly Schedule
To access the weekly schedule and other helpful resources visit the student page.

Prayer/Reflection
Prayer for Travelers
by Angela Herrera

This is a prayer for all the travelers.
For the ones who start out in beauty,
who fall from grace,
who step gingerly,
looking for the way back.
And for those who are born into the margins,
who travel from one liminal space to another,
crossing boundaries in search of center.

This is a prayer for traveling mercies,
And surefootedness,
for clear vision,
for bread
for your body and spirit,
for water,
for your safe arrival
and for everyone you see along the way.

Lunch Duty
Octavia Campus
This week: Buckley advisory
Week of January 21: Wilson advisory

Broadway Campus
This week: Sena and Barrett advisories
Week of January 21: Stafford and Jenkinson advisories

Need Help Getting Organized?
Did you have a chance to meet with Mr. Kramer last semester and discuss how to keep on top of your responsibilities and appointments better? Would you like some expert advise about those skills? Mr. Kramer is on campus through January 25 and would be happy to help you out. Find him in the Academic Support Center on either campus, or, better yet, shoot him an email at eli.kramer@sacredsf.org and set up an appointment.

Schedule Reminders
To accommodate some films and a guest speaker, we have a special schedule tomorrow:
-- Period A: 8:00-9:00
-- Period B: 9:15-10:15
-- Special programming: 10:30-12:15
-- Lunch: 12:15-1:00
-- Period C: 1:00-2:00
-- Period D: 2:15-3:15

In the special programming portion of the day tomorrow, Juniors meet in the Williams Library from 10:50 to 12:30 for a presentation by Dr. John Villasenor on the intersection of AI, ethics and geopolitics. Please arrive at Williams promptly at 10:50. Lunch is provided.

In the same time slot, ninth and twelfth graders have a movie screening! Young women meet in the Little Theater and young men in the Columbus Room at 10:30.

Middle Form Theater!
Wind in the Willows is being performed January 24 and 25 at 7:00 PM and January 26 at 2:00 PM. Tickets can be purchased at the door with cash or credit card for $10.00. Tickets can be purchased in advance online by visiting this link

Service
There is no SIA Meeting this week. Mr. O'Connor is in Mexico! 

The applications for the 2019 Network Summer Service Projects are due by Friday, January 25. Project descriptions may be found on the Service PowerSchool page. The application form is available online at: https://goo.gl/forms/r6DVLHhv2HZ0n6Ci2

---------------------------------------------------

[Recurring Announcement | May Skip] Are you updating your service record on MobileServe? Did you create an account? Don't wait to record your service. Currently all students are expected to complete 100 hours of service by the end of their high school experience. Students manage their service records. See your advisor first if you have questions regarding your service activity on MobileServe. 

[Recurring Announcement | May Skip] The Service Class on PowerSchool is regularly updated. If you need access, contact Mr. O'Connor. If you have any service related events or programs you wish to appear on this page, send Mr. O'Connor the details.

Athletics
There are several meetings next week for spring sports:
Tuesday, January 22
Fencing, room 101 on the Octavia Campus, 3:30
Badminton, room 302 on the Octavia Campus, 2:15 (the beginning of ColLab)
Swimming, in the Den (on the second floor of the Siboni Center), 2:30 (in the middle of ColLab)

Wednesday, January 23
Golf, room 301 on the Octavia Campus, 11:30 (the middle of lunch)
Baseball, the gym on the Octavia Campus, 11:30 (the middle of lunch)
Badminton, room 5216 on the Broadway Campus, 11:30 (the middle of lunch); If you are unable to attend but would still like to be on the badminton team, please email Mr. Harvey at devin.harvey@sacredsf.org.

Thursday, January 24
Tennis, room 101 on the Octavia Campus, 11:30 (the middle of lunch)

Friday, January 25
Lacrosse, the gym on the Octavia Campus, 12:00 (the middle of lunch)

All athletes interested in participating in track and field this spring, please see Coach Buckley in person or shoot him an email at michael.buckley@sacredsf.org. We're looking for anyone interested in sprinting, running, jumping or throwing; no experience is necessary, all are welcome, and there's something for everyone.

The weight room on the Octavia Campus will be open for winter conditioning and training today at 3:30 or so. All are welcome to join in.

Please check InstaTeam for dismissal times and transportation information.

Medical forms must be completed in order to participate find them here. Please turn in to Mr. Johnson, Mrs. De Santis or Justine Li.

Clubs
Please submit club announcements for the week by Friday afternoon.
The full club list is available here. Email any updates to Mr. PL.


 

This Week's Posts


 

Calendars

All School & High School

January 2019
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Dec 30
Mon, Dec 31
Tue, Jan 1
Wed, Jan 2
Thu, Jan 3
Fri, Jan 4
Sat, Jan 5
Sun, Jan 6
One Less Hungry Service Event
Pine/Octavia Campus
Tue, Jan 8
Children of Mary
-
Gr. 10 Costa Rica Family Night
-
Broadway Campus/ Syufy Theatre
Wed, Jan 9
Parents Association Class Parent/ Representative Meeting
-
Broadway Campus/ Little Theater
Faculty Art Show - Opening Reception
-
Broadway Campus/ Syufy Gallery/ Siboni Basement
Thu, Jan 10
Annual Fund Captains' Rally & Phonathon
-
Broadway Campus/ Williams Library/ 3rd Floor Student Center
Sat, Jan 12

College Counseling

January 2019
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Dec 30
Mon, Dec 31
Tue, Jan 1
Wed, Jan 2
Thu, Jan 3
Fri, Jan 4
Sat, Jan 5
Sun, Jan 6
Mon, Jan 7
Tue, Jan 8
Wed, Jan 9
Thu, Jan 10
Fri, Jan 11
Sat, Jan 12
Sun, Jan 13
Mon, Jan 14
Tue, Jan 15
Compass Testing Workshop for 11th Gr.
-
Syufy Theatre
Wed, Jan 16
Thu, Jan 17
Fri, Jan 18
Sat, Jan 19
Sun, Jan 20
Mon, Jan 21
Tue, Jan 22
Subscribe to Alerts Study in Canada College Fair
-
Lycee Francais, San Francisco
Wed, Jan 23
Thu, Jan 24
Fri, Jan 25
Sat, Jan 26
Sun, Jan 27
Mon, Jan 28
Tue, Jan 29
Wed, Jan 30
Fri, Feb 1
Sat, Feb 2

High School Athletics

Practice Calendars

Convent: Varsity Golf | Varsity Tennis | JV Tennis | Varsity Volleyball | JV Volleyball | Frosh-Soph Volleyball
Stuart Hall: Football 
Convent & Stuart Hall: Varsity Cross Country | Varsity Sailing

 

January 2019
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Dec 30
Mon, Dec 31
Stuart Hall JV Basketball vs. Mission High School
Stuart Hall High School
Tue, Jan 1
Thu, Jan 3
Sun, Jan 6
Mon, Jan 7
Thu, Jan 10
Stuart Hall JV Basketball vs. Marin Academy
Stuart Hall High School
Stuart Hall Varsity Basketball vs. Marin Academy
Stuart Hall High School
Sun, Jan 13
Mon, Jan 14
Tue, Jan 15
Thu, Jan 17
Fri, Jan 18
Sat, Jan 19
Sun, Jan 20
Mon, Jan 21

Around Campus

Poor air quality impacts students and faculty
Poor air quality impacts students and faculty
  • The Broadview

Due to the unhealthy air quality, school will not be in session tomorrow. Read More

 

New app to promote wellness
New app to promote wellness
  • The Broadview

School partners with startup to focus on mental health, wellness through app. Read More

Football delivers homecoming win
Football delivers homecoming win
  • The Roundtable

Stuart Hall football topped off Homecoming weekend with a win that continued the Knight's undefeated record. Read More

 

Cafeteria plan provides variety
Cafeteria plan provides variety
  • The Broadview

The new meal plan can be more cost efficient than previous years. Read More