Skip To Main Content
Faculty and Staff Honored with Awards
Faculty and Staff Honored with Awards

Convent & Stuart Hall honors faculty and staff each year to recognize excellence in teaching, contributions to the community and to support professional development.

During the President's New Year assembly held on February 10, faculty and staff ushered in the Year of the Ox with a virtual celebratory gathering. An annual tradition, this event provides an opportunity for President Ann Marie Krejcarek to share an overview of the budget and to honor individuals with awards that support professional development and recognize others for their outstanding contributions in the classroom and the community. Dr. Krejcarek has expanded the awards given to seven from the two awarded when she joined the school nine years ago. All of the awards are supported by endowed gifts.

Following an opening reflection from last year's Esther Rossi Excellence Award winner, Jose Larusso, Dr. Krejcarek introduced the Faculty Staff Development Committee (FSDC) to announce this year's recipients.

Awards and Recipients

Esther Rossi Excellence Award — Barclay Spring, Strength and Conditioning Coach
The Esther Rossi Excellence Award is given each year to an employee of the school who has made outstanding contributions to our tradition of excellence, focused particularly on Goal 4 of the Goals and Criteria: the building of community as a Christian value. The award was established and continues to grow thanks to the support of members of the Rossi family, in honor of their beloved mother, grandmother, aunt and grand-aunt. Esther was a devoted alumna of the Sacred Heart and generously supported the San Francisco College for Women at Lone Mountain, which was founded by the Religious of the Sacred Heart. Before presenting the award, FSDC member Paul Chow read quotes from colleagues who described Barclay as someone who "exemplifies excellence" and "encourages members of the community to stay fit and keep a sense of normalcy and wellness."

The Niehaus Family President's Excellence Award — Tim Duckett, Hector Flores, Evan Lang, Jared Moreno and Danny Seibert, Plant Engineers
The Niehaus Family President's Excellence Award was established in 2013 by Joe and Karen Niehaus, longtime supporters of Convent & Stuart Hall whose children attended the school. Additionally, Joe served on the Board of Trustees for seven years, with one term as Chair. The Niehaus family established the fund so the President could select a recipient each year who exemplifies excellence in his or her work for the school. FSDC member Belle Akers introduced our Plant Engineers as a group that "embodies community spirit" and "works tirelessly around the school to make our campus a better place."

The Fusco Family Awards in Support of Educational Excellence
In November 2015, the school received a gift from the estate of Elvera "Ellie" Fusco, a beloved friend of the school and a graduate of the San Francisco College for Women at Lone Mountain. Her bequest established an endowed fund to support faculty salaries and benefits. Dr. Krejcarek, in collaboration with the estate trustees, wanted to honor Ellie's passion for education through the establishment of three awards presented each year in honor of Ellie, her sister Mildred (Millie) and their brother Lorenzo (Larry).

The Fusco Family Award in honor of Ellie Fusco is presented to a faculty or staff member who has the true "heart of an educator," someone who gives his or her all in the classroom while making sure the hearts and minds of students are activated and engaged. The award in honor of Millie is presented to a faculty or staff member whose work with students inspires passion and aspiration. The award in Larry's honor is presented to a staff person who shines in his or her work with students as a coach or service learning mentor.

The following faculty members received this year's Fusco Family Awards:

The Ellie Fusco Heart of an Educator Award — Betsy Pfeiffer, Director of Studies/Registrar, Grades 9–12

The Fusco Family Award in honor of Millie Fusco — Nikki Hogan, Associate Dean and Convent Elementary Mathematics Faculty 

The Fusco Family Award in honor of Larry Fusco — Kristin Monfredini, K–8 Spiritual L.I.F.E. Director

Cor Unum Award — K–2 Lead, Associate and Specialty Teachers
This year, Dr. Krejcarek presented an additional award recognizing the first group of faculty members who returned to campus last fall to teach students in person.

Sister Ann Conroy Award — Jason Enevoldson, High School History & Social Sciences Faculty
The Sister Ann Conroy Fund for Faculty Excellence was established in 2013 in honor of another longtime Sacred Heart educator. This award application process is open to all high school faculty and Central Services staff for pursuits of personal enrichment. Jason plans to spend one month in Australia devoted to studying Aboriginal culture. He will visit sacred sites and communities, engaging in dialogue with Aboriginal leaders to learn about the parallel treatment of their people and Native Americans. "Although I grew up in Australia," Jason wrote in his application, "I had no frame of reference for the American experience. After gaining an understanding of the Native American experience, I wish to do a comparative study. This will enrich the U.S. history experience for our students."

The celebration concluded with Rena Franco, last year's recipient of the Sister Ann Conroy Award, sharing a reflection.