Skip To Main Content

Faculty and Staff Honored at the 2024 Lunar New Year Assembly

Faculty and Staff Honored at the 2024 Lunar New Year Assembly

Nominated by their colleagues, seven faculty and staff members were recognized for excellence in teaching and service and their professional development ambitions.

During the President's New Year assembly held on February 7 in the Mary Mardel, RSCJ Chapel, seven employees were honored with awards that recognize outstanding contributions in the classroom and community and support professional development. This annual tradition provides an opportunity for President Ann Marie Krejcarek to gather with faculty and staff and deliver an overview of the budget, welcome in the Lunar New Year by sharing predictions for each Chinese zodiac sign, and finally and most importantly, honor nominated faculty and staff with awards. All the awards are supported by named endowed funds. 

Following a reflection from former award winners, Dr. Krejcarek and the Faculty Staff Development Committee (FSDC) announced this year's recipients.

2024 Awards and Recipients

Esther Rossi Excellence Award — Daniel Fishman, Grade 7 Literature & English Language Faculty
The Esther Rossi Excellence Award is given each year to an employee of the school who has made outstanding contributions to our tradition of excellence, focused particularly on Goal 4 of the Goals and Criteria: the building of community as a Christian value. The award was established and continues to grow thanks to the support of members of the Rossi family, in honor of their beloved mother, grandmother, aunt and grand-aunt. Esther was a devoted alumna of the Sacred Heart and generously supported the San Francisco College for Women at Lone Mountain, which was founded by the Religious of the Sacred Heart. 

The President's Excellence Award — Eric Gordon, Middle Form Dean, Grades 3-5
The President's Excellence Award was established in 2013 by Joe and Karen Niehaus, longtime supporters of Convent & Stuart Hall whose children attended the school. Additionally, Joe served on the Board of Trustees for seven years, with one term as Chair. The Niehaus family established the fund so the President could select a recipient each year who exemplifies excellence in his or her work for the school. 

Sister Mary Mardel Fund —  Maria Oliveros, Lead Faculty, Grade 3 
The Sister Mary Mardel Fund for Faculty Excellence was established in 1997 by gifts to an endowed fund, in honor of the beloved Sacred Heart educator. Each year, elementary faculty apply for the award in pursuit of a specific professional development opportunity or personal enrichment. 

Sister Ann Conroy Award — Elaina Jo LeGault, High School Religion, Theology & Spirituality Faculty
The Sister Ann Conroy Fund for Faculty Excellence was established in 2013 in honor of another longtime Sacred Heart educator. This award application process is open to all high school faculty and Central Services staff for pursuits of personal enrichment. 

The Fusco Family Awards in Support of Educational Excellence — 
In November 2015, the school received a gift from the estate of Elvera "Ellie" Fusco, a beloved friend of the school and a graduate of the San Francisco College for Women at Lone Mountain. Her bequest established an endowed fund to support faculty salaries and benefits. Dr. Krejcarek, in collaboration with the estate trustees, wanted to honor Ellie's passion for education through the establishment of three awards presented each year in honor of Ellie, her sister Mildred (Millie) and their brother Lorenzo (Larry).

The Fusco Family Award in honor of Ellie Fusco is presented to a faculty or staff member who has the true "heart of an educator," someone who gives his or her all in the classroom while making sure the hearts and minds of students are activated and engaged. The award in honor of Millie is presented to a faculty or staff member whose work with students inspires passion and aspiration. The award in Larry's honor is presented to a staff person who shines in his or her work with students as a coach or service learning mentor.

The following faculty members received this year's Fusco Family Awards:

The Ellie Fusco Heart of an Educator Award — Bianca Walian, Lead Faculty, Grade 1

The Fusco Family Award in honor of Millie Fusco — Sarah Garlinghouse, Grade 9 Academic Chair, History & Social Sciences Faculty

The Fusco Family Award in honor of Larry Fusco — Ruth Loy, K–12 Admissions & Database Coordinator